Morley Primary School

Home Page

Morley Primary School

Home Page

Skylark Cluster

The Skylark Cluster

Morley Primary belongs to the Skylark Cluster of Small Schools. This was begun in 2017 as a collaboration between 10 local small schools. As we are all of similar size, and all within the local area, we have a range of similar development needs and interests. The collaboration will enable pupils to mix in greater numbers, and staff to work together to continue to move our schools forwards. 

The 10 schools are:


Breadsall CE (VC) Primary

Denby Free CE (A) Primary

Horsley CE Primary

Kilburn Infant and Nursery

Lons Infants

Mapperley CE Primary

Morley Primary

Stanley Common CE Primary

Stanley St Andrews CE Primary

Streetlane Primary

Our Skylark name came from the fact that many of our school incorporate a bird in our school logo; skylarks reflect our rural village landscapes; our school all believe in children flying high and aiming for the very best that they can be.

Networking and mutual support


Our staff meet at least termly to work together on a central focus. We have discussed writing moderation, maths resources for mixed age classes, enrichment activities for science, progression in foundation subjects, the Derbyshire PSHCE curriculum, ArtsMark.


We meet as a whole group, including our governors, every year for safeguarding training with the Local Authority's safeguarding lead. We also meet at least twice a year for moderation in core subject areas.


Our Office staff meet each term to support each other with administration issues, finance and GDPR.


Our Heads meet each half term to plan strategic activities for our schools, plan the year's work, and plan the annual cluster INSET day, which we hold at Morley Hayes each February.



The main collaboration activity for 2019-21 is the development of the ArtsMark programme (see link below to see this work). Each school has selected an ArtsMark lead, and 4 Arts Ambassadors from Y5 and Y6, who are leading the work in school. The Ambassadors plan and deliver activities within their own school, and meet together each term to discuss and promote the arts curriculum.


Recent activities include the Christmas card displays using recycled materials, and presentations of each other. 

We have two places available in current Year 2, or for Year 3 in September.